In New York State when a child custody arrangement has been made, the parent who spends less than 50-percent of the time with the child is known as the non-custodial parent. This parent will be obligated to make child support payments to the custodial parent (the parent who spends 50-percent or more time with the child) in order to assist them in giving the child everything they need to live. These payments can be used for clothing, food, school, etc.
The child support calculations in New York State have been predetermined by a percentage and a calculation based on the adjusted gross income of the noncustodial parent, adjusted meaning after Medicare, Social Security and tax deductions. According to the Child Support Standards Act, the non-custodial parent will be required to pay 17-percent of their gross annual income for one child, 25-percent for two children, 29-percent for three children, 31-percent for four children, and no less than 35-percent for five or more children. Child support payments can also include medical support such as health insurance coverage and the payment of any out of pocket medical expenses the child may face.
It is important to know that the previously stated percentages are only applicable to gross annual incomes up to $143,000. The court will make a decision as to whether these percentages will apply if the income exceeds this rate. On the opposite end of the spectrum, if the non-custodial parent makes less than the Federal Poverty Level of $11,880, New York State laws will only require the parent to pay $25 per month. In addition, the non-custodial parent in this situation will not incur more than $500 in arrears.
If you have questions about your child support obligations, it is important that you consult with an experienced family law attorney who can provide you with assistance.
If you need quality and compassionate legal services from an experienced collaborative divorce lawyer or the guidance from a seasoned mediator, contact Leslye M. Schlesinger today.